2017 Literary Awards Program Winners

Judge Benjamin Percy has decided on the winners! We’ll get right to it:

The two runner-ups are:

Doug Crandell for Tornado Season.

Crandell is an author and teacher. He’s received awards and endowments from the Sherwood Anderson Foundation, the Virginia Center for the Creative Arts, Kellogg Writers Series, Hohenberg Foundation, and the Jentel Artist Residency. An essay of Doug’s appears in the Pushcart Prize 2017. One of his short stories was chosen by NPR’s Glynn Washington for the 2017 Page-to-Screen Award. Doug is a regular contributor to Glimmer Train and the SUN Magazine and is represented by Sterling Lord Literistic in NYC. He earned an MFA from Queens University. Find him on Facebook.

Kate Wisel for Driving in Cars With Homeless Men.

Wisel’s work has appeared in Redivider as winner of the Beacon Street Prize, Bartleby Snopes where she was awarded “Story of the Month” and nominated for a Pushcart Prize, the Boston Subway as winner of the “Poetry on the T” contest, and elsewhere. She has received scholarships to attend The Wesleyan Writer’s Conference, The Juniper Institute, The Squaw Valley Writer’s Workshop, and the Writing by Writer’s fellowship.

And the grand prize goes to:

Wendy J. Fox for If The Ice Had Held.

Fox is the author of The Seven Stages of Anger and Other Stories (Press 53, 2014) and the novel The Pull of It (Underground Voices, 2016). She lives in Denver.

If The Ice Had Held will be published by SFWP on May 1st, 2019. Find Wendy online right here, and on Twitter.

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *